Form of Government

Mount Holly's government consists of a five-member Board of Councilmen/Councilwomen elected by the residents for a four year term.  The town operates under a Council-Manager Form of Government.

A variety of appointed Boards and Committees meet regularly to make rules and decisions that govern the town departments. Boards and Committees also dictate many other things around town, among them how land, water, and facilities can be utilized; and what programs that affect the town will be enacted.

Town citizens have plenty of opportunity to get involved. A number of Advisory Committees, Coalitions and Task Forces, comprised of appointed volunteers, meet, research, and attempt to find solutions to topics that affect town life, then present their findings and solutions to town boards and/or officials for further action.